Monday, June 24, 2013

2013 Award Finalists

Hello Permanent Press fans, award season is upon us and we are proud announce three of our 2012 novels have qualified as finalists in three distinguished awards.

Oregon Hill
- Hammett Prize Finalist

Howard Owen's first Willie Black mystery, sets the down-on-his-luck reporter apart as the only one still investigating the mysterious death of a dismembered university co-ed in the quiet town of Oregon Hill, Virginia.

The Hammett Prize is awarded by the International Association of crime writers and will be announced during the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association (NAIBA) Fall Conference, in Somerset, New Jersey, September 30-October 2. The winner will receive a bronze trophy, designed by sculptor Peter Boiger.

Dead Anyway - Nero Award Finalist

Chris Knopf's new mystery series follows the events of Arthur Cathcart the market researcher and occasional finder of missing persons. After a close call with the wrong types of people Arthur is presumed and pronounced dead, and now he's going to find out why.

The Nero Award is presented by the Wolfe pack, a group dedicated to honoring the legendary had-boiled detective character of Nero Wolfe featured in over 30 novels written by Rex Stout. The award is given to authors whose work best represents the style of the genre originated by Stout. The award is presented at the Black Orchid Banquet, which is traditionally held on the first Saturday in December in New York City.

Racing the Devil

ing the Devil - Shamus Award Finalist "Best First PI Novel"

Jaden Terrell's Nashville private investigator Jared McKean has a weakness for women in jeopardy - until one frames him for muder. His DNA and fingerprints are found at the murder scene and the victim was killed with a bullet from his gun. Now Jared must find a way to clear his name, hold his family together, and solve a case that could cost him his life.

The Shamus Award is presented by The Private Eye Writers of America. The Shamus Award is to honor excellent work in the Private Eye genre.The award was created by Robert J. Randisi in 1981. The winner will be announced at the PWA Banquet at Bouchercon in Albany, New York, on Friday, September 20.